Feedback Form
browse all
hall of shame
comments history
current bargains
subtitling stats
contact us
subtitled trailers
speak your mind!
top 50 DVDs
top 50 feature DVDs
top 50 subtitled
top 50 unrated
top 50 rentals
useful links

Main feature onlyThe Jewel in the Crown: The Complete Series (1984)

Region: 2
UPC/Barcode: 5037115074133
Released: 18th April 2005
Release type: Deleted
No. of Discs: 4
Catalogue No: 3711507413
Category: Television, Drama
Format: DVD / Special Edition Box Set
The Jewel in the Crown: The Complete Series (1984) (Special Edition Box Set) (Deleted)


Main feature only Only the main feature on this DVD title has English subtitles. [explanation]

Claimed subtitles: English, English for the hearing impaired

Share this page » 

Subtitling reviews:

Submitted by ferguslamont on 20th December 2007:
Partly subtitled"The main film is well subtitled throughout. The actors' portrait gallery does not require subtitles. I have not been able to access the other listed features."

Submitted by robinsegg on 31st January 2009:
Main feature only"Main feature is English subtitled. Audio commentaries on episode 1, 4, 13 & 14 are not subtitled. There are no other extras."

Have you got this DVD title?
Rate this title / Add a comment



Film information

Based on: The 'Raj Quartet' novels by Paul Scott

Story: Granada TV's dramatisation of Paul Scott's novels about the last days of the British Raj in India. In 'Crossing the River' Daphne Mannings arrives in India for the first time and meets Hari Kumar. 'The Bibighar Gardens' sees the controversy around Daphne and Hari's relationship escalate to a surprising degree. 'Questions of Loyalty' has Hari remaining in prison while Daphne gives birth. 'Incidents at a Wedding' finds Meyrick serving as best man at Teddy and Susan's wedding. 'Regimental Silver' sees Susan prepare to celebrate her 21st birthday. 'Ordeal by Fire' has Meyrick reveal the details of Teddy's death. 'Daughters of the Regiment' finds Sarah the centre of attention when she visits Aunt Fenny. In 'The Day of the Scorpion' Sarah meets the Count while travelling home. 'The Towers of Silence' sees Barbie fall ill after a visit to the home of Captain Cowley. 'An Evening at the Maharanee's' has Meyrick interrogate some suspected traitors. 'Travelling Companion' finds Sarah promoted to the rank of Sergeant. 'The Moghul Room' sees Peron investigate the secrets in Meyrick's past. 'Pandora's Box' has Susie struggle to regain her balance after Meyrick's accident. And finally, in 'The Division of the Spoils', the story of Meyrick's demise is recounted in full.

Starring: Peggy Ashcroft, Charles Dance, Saeed Jaffrey, Geraldine James, Anna Cropper, Rachel Kempson, Rosemary Leach, Art Malik, Zia Mohyeddin, Wendy Morgan, Judy Parfitt, Tim Pigott-Smith, Eric Porter, Susan Wooldridge, Frederick Treves, Peter Jeffrey, Nicholas Farrell

Directed by: Jim O'Brien, Christopher Morahan

Music by: George Fenton

Produced by: Christopher Morahan

Written by: Ken Taylor

DVD information

Studio/distributor: ITV DVD

Other releases of this film

The Jewel in the Crown: The Complete Series (1984) (25th Anniversary Edition) (Retail / Rental)
The Jewel in the Crown: The Complete Series (1984) (Remastered) (Retail / Rental)