Feedback Form
browse all
hall of shame
comments history
current bargains
subtitling stats
contact us
subtitled trailers
speak your mind!
top 50 DVDs
top 50 feature DVDs
top 50 subtitled
top 50 unrated
top 50 rentals
useful links

The Anna Neagle Collection (0)

Region: 2
UPC/Barcode: 5055201801692
Released: 7th January 2008
Release type: Retail / Rental
No. of Discs: 6
Catalogue No: OPTD1102
Category: Feature, Classic
Format: DVD / Box Set
The Anna Neagle Collection (Box Set) (Retail / Rental)


No subtitling information available for this DVD title. [explanation]

Claimed subtitles: (unknown)

Share this page » 

Subtitling reviews:

(None submitted)

Have you got this DVD title?
Rate this title / Add a comment



Film information

Story: A collection of the British actress's films. In 'Derby Day' (1952), Neagle stars in a collection of comic andf dramatic stories based around the famous horse race at Epsom. In 'I Live In Grosvenor Square' (1945), a WWII romance set around the US troops base in London, Neagle plays Lady Patricia Fairfax, in love with British Major David Bruce (Rex Harrison) until Sergeant John Patterson (Dean Jagger) arrives on the scene. In the musical comedy 'The Lady Is a Square' (1959), Neagle is the straight-laced mother of Joanna Baring (Janette Scott), who falls for young singer Johnny Burns (Frankie Vaughan). In 'The Lady with the Lamp' (1951), Neagle plays Florence Nightingale, the 19th century nurse and hospital crusader who managed to reform the nursing profession and make it what it is today. In 'Victoria the Great' (1937), Neagle takes the title role in this classic account of the life of Queen Victoria. Focusing on her private life, it tells of her courtship by and marriage to Prince Albert (Anton Walbrook) and features a thrilling assassination attempt where the Prince risks his own life to protect his Queen. The film was produced by Herbert Wilcox at the request of Edward VIII. Finally, 'Sixty Glorious Years' (1938) is a companion piece to the previous year's 'Victoria the Great', featuring further scenes from the life of Queen Victoria but this time focusing on the political events rather than the personal life. Neagle and Anton Walbrook reprise their roles as Victoria and Albert.

Starring: Michael Wilding, Anna Neagle, John McCallum, Googie Withers, Peter Graves, Gladys Young, Felix Aylmer, Julia D'Albie, Charles Carson, Barbara Couper, Monckton Hoffe, Helena Pickard, Helen Shingler, Nigel Stock, Edwin Styles, Sybil Thorndike, Arthur Young, Anton Walbrook, C. Aubrey Smith, Grete Wegener, Lewis Casson, Joyce Bland, Frederick Lister, Walter Rilla, H.B. Warner, Mary Morris, Jim Dale, Derrick De Marney, Paul Leyssac, Gordon McLeod, Percy Parsons

Directed by: Herbert Wilcox

Music by: Anthony Collins, Angela Morley

Produced by: Herbert Wilcox, Anna Neagle

Subject: Florence Nightingale, Queen Victoria, Prince Albert

Written by: Warren Chetham Strode, Miles Malleson, Charles de Grandcourt, Robert Vansittart, Maurice Cowan, William D. Bayles, Arvid Dahl, Nicholas Phipps, Pamela Bower, Harold Purcell

DVD information

Studio/distributor: Optimum Home Entertainment

Other releases of this film

There are no other releases of this film.