Feedback Form
browse all
hall of shame
comments history
current bargains
subtitling stats
contact us
subtitled trailers
speak your mind!
top 50 DVDs
top 50 feature DVDs
top 50 subtitled
top 50 unrated
top 50 rentals
useful links

Humphrey Jennings: The Collection (1945)

Region: 2
UPC/Barcode: 5060067930028
Released: 25th July 2005
Release type: Deleted
No. of Discs: 1
Catalogue No: FILM002
Category: Feature, Shorts
Format: DVD / Normal
(No image available)


No subtitling information available for this DVD title. [explanation]

Claimed subtitles: (unknown)

Share this page » 

Subtitling reviews:

(None submitted)

Have you got this DVD title?
Rate this title / Add a comment



Film information

Story: Triple-bill of documentaries by acclaimed filmmaker Humphrey Jennings, who captured the sights and sounds of Britain during the Second World War. 'Listen to Britain' (1942) eschews commentary or a musical backing to present the country only through natural sound and image. 'Diary For Timothy' (1945) is narrated by Michael Redgrave from a script by E.M. Forster, and takes the form of a diary for a baby born in the momentous year between 1944 and 1945, with the country wearied by conflict. Finally, 'I Was a Fireman' (1943) is Jennings' landmark feature that follow 24 hours in the life of a Fire Unit during the Blitz on London.

Starring: Philip Dickson, George Gravett, Fred Griffiths, Johnny Houghton, Loris Rey, Michael Redgrave (voice)

Directed by: Humphrey Jennings

Written by: Humphrey Jennings, E.M. Forster

DVD information

Studio/distributor: Film First

Other releases of this film

There are no other releases of this film.